FTE Regional ITS Architecture (Final)

ITS Stakeholders

(Printable Version)

The FTE Regional ITS Architecture resulted from the consensus input of a diverse set of stakeholders, encompassing traffic, public safety, public transportation and other modes, special events, and many other stakeholders at the local and state levels. It includes both public and private sectors and spans the organizations that develop, operate, maintain, and depend on the surface transportation system.

This page contains a list (in alphabetical order) of the stakeholders that develop, operate, maintain, and/or depend on the ITS services. Each stakeholder has a hotlink to a definition of the stakeholder and a list of that stakeholder's specific ITS elements (if any).

Archived Data Users Users of archived data.
CFX The Central Florida Expressway Authority operates toll roads in Orange County and in adjacent counties if requested by local government.
CHEMTREC CHEMTREC (CHEMical TRansportation Emergency Center) was established by the chemical industry as a public service hotline for fire fighters, law enforcement, and other emergency responders to obtain information and assistance for emergency incidents involving chemicals and hazardous materials.
Counties and Cities Represents generic county and municipal agencies and departments, including public works departments, and permit offices.
County Emergency Management Agencies Represents the generic county agencies and departments that coordinate emergency response during major disasters or incidents.
County Public Safety Agencies Represents the generic county public safety agencies, including EMS, fire departments, and sheriff's departments.
County Public Safety Agencies - Fire/EMS Represents the generic county fire and EMS departments, including volunteer fire departments.
County Public Safety Agencies - Sheriffs Department Represents the generic county sheriff's departments.
FDOT Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). The mission of the department is to provide a safe and reliable transportation system that ensures the mobility of people and goods, enhances economic prosperity and preserves the quality of Florida's environment and communities. Various modes of transportation are supported by the department including roadways, railways, seaport and airports.
FDOT Central Office of Information Services The Office of Information Systems (OIS) is a division level organization within the Department of Transportation. The Chief Information Officer serves as the director of OIS. The primary functions of the OIS are to provide FDOT with a functional, statewide information processing and communications network, provide technical support for the Department's integrated office automation systems; provide staff controls for all statutory requirements of information resources in the area of procurement, security and finance; and manage all computer-based administrative and managerial data processing information. It is the mission of the Office of Information Systems to meet the requirements of customers who use computer-generated information by providing and supporting technology, systems, and services that are reliable, available, and protected.
FDOT District 1 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 1, Southwest Florida, which includes Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and Sarasota counties.
FDOT District 2 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 2, Northeast Florida, which includes Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor and Union counties.
FDOT DIstrict 4 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 4, Southeast Florida, which includes Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie counties.
FDOT District 5 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 5, Central Florida, which includes the following counties: Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia.
FDOT District 6 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 6, South Florida, which includes Miami-Dad and Monroe counties.
FDOT District 7 Represents Florida Department of Transportation District 7, West Central Florida, which includes the counties of Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, and Pinellas.
Financial Institutions Financial and banking institutions that play a role in electronic payment financial transactions.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles promotes a safe driving environment through law enforcement, public education and service, reduction of traffic crashes, titling and registering of motor vehicles and vessels, licensing motor vehicle operators, and regulation of motor vehicle exhaust.
Florida Department of Law Enforcement Florida Department responsible for initiating Amber Alert messages.
Florida Division of Emergency Management A division of the Florida Department of Community Affairs, the Florida Division of Emergency Management is responsible for ensuring that the State of Florida is prepared to respond to emergencies, recover from them, and mitigate their impacts.
Florida Highway Patrol The Florida Highway Patrol's (FHP) mission is to promote a safe driving environment through aggressive law enforcement, public education, and safety awareness; reduce the number and severity of traffic crashes in Florida, preserve and protect human life and property.
Florida Toll Authorities Represents county, local, and expressway toll authorities, including OOCEA, MDX, Tampa-Hillsboro, etc...
Floridas Turnpike Enterprise Represents Floridas Turnpike Enterprise, which manages and operates limited-access toll highways in the State of Florida, including the Florida Turnpike.
Lee County DOT Represents the agencies and departments of Lee County, including public works departments, and permit offices.
Local Agencies Represents local government agencies and departments, including local fire/rescue departments, law enforcement providers, and emergency management agencies.
Local Agencies - Fire EMS/Rescue Departments Represents the generic municipal and local fire, EMS and Rescue Departments.
Local Agencies - Police Departments Represents the generic municipal and local police departments and other law enforcement providers. May include campus police.
Local Media Owner/operators of communications media including television, cable TV, radio, and news papers.
Local Venue Promoters Local event promoters, such as arenas.
NOAA National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Includes the National Weather Service and the National Hurricane Center.
Osceola County Expressway Authority Planned new Expressway Authority for Osceola County.
Other FDOT Districts Represents a stakeholder group consisting of other FDOT Districts.
Private Archive Data Providers Represents private, third-party providers of archived data services
Private Commercial Vehicle and Fleet Operators Owner/operators of private commercial vehicles and fleets.
Private Sector ISPs Private traveler and transportation information service providers, including Mobility Technologies, SmartRoute Systems, Shadow Traffic, and Metro Traffic.
Private Tow Wreckers Private companies that operate tow trucks or wreckers.
Private Weather Information Providers Private companies providing weather services and information.
Private/Public Regional Medical Centers Hospital/trauma centers in the region.
State of Florida Represents the State of Florida
Travelers Represents the general public, including passengers and travelers.